Content management – Marketo Office Hours special 05/07/2021

In this session of Marketing Office Hours, we’ll talk about planning and organizing your content strategy. This is truly the cornerstone of content marketing and you’ll see that many tools exist to help you get organized.

This is a work in progress session with processes that we are putting in place at M/L. We have many very ambitious goals and content creation is a real strategic issue for us.

Why create content?

Content is the real fuel for your inbound marketing. Without content, it’s hard to attract people to you or allow Google to spot your expertise on topics. If you don’t produce content, you’ll quickly be limited to outbound marketing and that can quickly deplete your base.

At M/L, we are rather reluctant to practice outbound marketing. We try to make sure that the first interaction is initiated by the person and that means producing content. That’s the M/L philosophy: give before you get.

Start by giving value to your audience to get them interested, attracted and then talk business.

The consequences of poor organization and mistakes to avoid

It’s pretty frustrating to make content that will have a non-existent lifespan, a one shot. It is important to create content that has a real ROI. Without organization, we make content that is too product-oriented or based on our desires and needs of the moment. It may work once, but it won’t necessarily interest your audience.

Without organization, we spend more time producing content than promoting it. And that’s not good. In content marketing, there is one rule: you have to spend as much energy and budget producing content as you do distributing it.

At M/L, we have a lot of different content (webinars, videos, blog). And the first thing that bothered us was that, by dint of producing so much content, we couldn’t find our way around it. This is one of the most common mistakes: having too much content and not knowing how to use it.

Several questions then arose:

  • How do I organize my content?
  • How do I plan my different publications?
  • How do I get into a logic of recycling and long-term content marketing?

How to organize your content with Divvy?

The first solution we found to organize our content is Divvy! This database will allow us to gather all our content, list them, organize them by type and schedule them in a calendar.

What’s interesting with this digital solution is that we can access all types of content via Sandbox, thanks to organization items such as:

  • Content type;
  • The publication URL;
  • The deadline ;
  • The type of promotion;
  • The calendar ;
  • etc.

You will be able to tag this content and associate it to one or more marketing campaigns, with choice of audience, publication channels and SEO keywords.

You can also create content directly in Divvy, from a text editor. You will be able to associate a shared briefing to a member of your team or to an external.

Finally, a powerful search tool allows you to easily find your content using a multitude of criteria: type, tag, subject, creation date, strategy, status, priority level.

Everything is centralized in one place.

How to plan your content?

Thanks to Divvy, you will also be able to plan all your content much more easily and set up a real content marketing strategy.

This digital solution allows you to deploy several calendars. At M/L, we have chosen to set up 3 different schedules:

  • Blog articles ;
  • Marketo tips; and
  • Webinars.

This way, you can easily plan your content throughout the year and check that the publication dates do not overlap between the different formats.

You will also be able to have a global vision of the different campaigns, like a monthly newsletter for example. You will easily find out which content to include in your news, go into creation mode and assign people to the production.

Define the tags of the different contents

The definition of categories and tags associated with content is very important. These tags and categories have their own web pages that can be found on your site or blog.

The reader can choose to use either tags or categories. In terms of SEO, it is important that your queries are well visible by Google. It is therefore important to choose the right tags so that the associated pages are rich in terms of content. Otherwise, it’s bad for SEO.

If you want to work on a particular keyword, you must limit the number of tags to relevant queries and that the keyword is well referenced on all systems to harmonize the choice of tags according to the platforms.

This work of defining tags and categories allows to massify the work of content and to optimize the SEO.

How to define your content marketing logic around a funnel?

At M/L, we have chosen to start with a monthly logic, saying: we have major themes that interest our audience. Each month, we will create a body of content around the chosen theme, at different levels of the funnel.

Each piece of content created must be linked to an offer or a call to action. When we thought about the subject of data quality, we created different types of content:

  • The tops of the funnel (infographics, snack content, blog posts) that are easy to read;
  • In the middle of the funnel, we will find an in-depth article with a video, the 12 data quality campaigns to create and a marketo office hours;
  • And finally, even more advanced articles such as the cornerstone content, which is the reference on this topic. We can also add a webinar or other more complete content.

This organization also allows you to organize your SEO strategy according to the different contents, to create a real corpus of keywords from a SEMRush study. This tool helps you to easily find keywords and expressions according to their search volume, then to follow the progress of your content on search engines.

You will be able to create a semantic cocoon and design content around the same family of keywords and that are linked together by an internal mesh.

To guide readers, you can also use a chatbot that will suggest other content to be consulted on the site or sent by email. It is therefore possible to link your content to marketing automation and improve its ROI.

To organize your strategy, you can work on Miro to centralize all the useful information for each team member. And then use SEMRush, Google Analytics and Marketo to measure the ROI of your content.

How to amplify the reach of your content?

How do I meet my audience to offer them my content? Obviously, you can do SEA, but it is not enough to amplify your content in an “industrial” way. There are 3 tracks to follow:

  • social media management ;
  • the loyalty program ;
  • the pod.

Amplify your content with Limber

Limber is a solution that allows you to create marketing scenarios for each type of content. When you publish a post, you can send it to your personal channel, your professional channel and your Facebook group.

After 24 hours, we republish on our personal channel and the channel of our collaborators with automatic likes and shares. Then we plan a monthly, bi-monthly, weekly, etc. rescheduling of the event.

Limber allows you to take control of your social networks and automate a certain number of publications, within a planned scenario across different accounts and pages. Regularly, my content is automatically pushed and amplified on different channels.

This type of solution saves time and gives your collaborators the choice to comment, like or share.

Limber also offers a social wall where all your content can be easily shared on social networks. Your employees have access to this wall and can select the contents of their choice, with a gamification system.

This platform also makes it easy to keep track of your social networks.

Finally, M/L ambassadors can also amplify our content in exchange for benefits such as vouchers or discounts on our offers. They can be a precious help in promoting our marketing content.

Questions and comments from participants

  • In the content formats developed, is variety favored? And what works best?

     

If you make the effort to do a 3000 word article, you have to see it as a nugget to be converted into lots of little diamonds. Repackaging high-value content in different media isn’t the hard part. At M/L, we try to share as many different types of content on the same theme as possible, to reach a maximum audience. We start with a theme and see how it can be developed, not the other way around. Each reader or listener is attracted by a different type of content. It is therefore important that everyone finds their way in your proposals.

It’s better to do less content and take a topic and really go deep into it and make it last over time.

By being very organized and using the right tools, you can even produce a maximum amount of content with a small team. The more you work on your process, the more you will be able to develop your strategy and multiply your content on all platforms.

It is so complicated to make content that works, so it is essential to combine expertise on content, SEO or marketing automation. You have to think of marketing and communication as a single team involved in content marketing.

It seems essential to combine all the forces involved.

Thank you all for attending this Marketing Office Hours session. Do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions.

Posted By Sylvain

For the past 20 years, Sylvain has been choosing and assembling the best technologies for his key account clients, to help them create a successful end-to-end customer experience. Surely the Leonard of the team, he is a fan - and expert - of Marketo! He sits next to his clients, drives them forward and makes Marketing Automation projects succeed with his team.

Content management spécial

Marketo Office Hours du 05/07/2021

Dans cette session des Marketing Office Hours, nous aborderons ensemble le sujet de la planification et de l’organisation de votre stratégie de contenu. C’est véritablement la pierre angulaire du content marketing et vous allez voir que de nombreux outils existent pour vous aider à mieux vous organiser.

C’est une session work in progress avec des process que nous sommes en train de mettre en place chez M/L. Nous avons de nombreux objectifs très ambitieux et la création de contenu est un véritable enjeu stratégique chez nous.

Pourquoi créer du contenu ?

Le contenu est le véritable fuel de votre marketing entrant. Sans contenu, il est difficile d’attirer les gens à soi  ou de permettre à Google de repérer votre expertise sur des sujets. Si vous ne produisez pas de contenu, vous allez vite être limité à du marketing sortant et cela peut rapidement épuiser votre base.

Chez M/L, nous sommes plutôt réticents à pratiquer le marketing sortant. Nous essayons de faire en sorte que la première interaction soit à l’initiative de la personne et cela passe par de la production de contenu. C’est la philosophie de M/L : donner avant de recevoir.

Commencez par donner de la valeur à votre audience pour les intéresser, les attirer et ensuite parler business.

Les conséquences d’une mauvaise organisation et les erreurs à éviter

C’est assez frustrant de faire du contenu qui aura une durée de vie inexistante, du one shot. Il est important de créer du contenu qui a une véritable ROI. Sans organisation, on fait du contenu trop orienté produit ou en fonction de nos envies et besoins du moment. Ça peut fonctionner une fois, mais ça ne va pas forcément intéresser votre audience.

Sans organisation, on passe plus de temps à produire du contenu qu’à le promouvoir. Et ça ce n’est pas bon. En content marketing, il y a une règle : c’est qui est qu’il faut passer autant d’énergie et de budget à produire du contenu qu’à le diffuser.

Chez M/L, nous avons énormément de contenus différents (webinaires, vidéos, blog). Et le premier point qui nous a gêné, c’est qu’à force de produire, on ne s’y retrouvait plus dans tout notre contenu. C’est une des erreurs les plus fréquentes : avoir trop de contenu et ne pas savoir l’utiliser.

Plusieurs questions se sont alors posées :

  • Comment j’organise mon contenu ?
  • Comment je planifie mes différentes publications ?
  • Comment je rentre dans une logique de recyclage et de long terme en content marketing ?

Comment organiser son contenu avec Divvy ?

La première solution que nous avons trouvé pour organiser notre contenu, c’est Divvy ! Cette base de données va nous permettre de rassembler l’ensemble de nos contenus, les lister, les organiser par type et les planifier dans un calendrier.

Ce qui est intéressant avec cette solution digitale, c’est qu’on peut accéder à tous types de contenus via Sandbox, grâce à des items d’organisation comme :

  • Le type de contenu ;
  • L’URL de publication ;
  • La deadline ;
  • Le type de promotion ;
  • Le calendrier ;
  • etc.

Vous allez pouvoir taguer ce contenu et l’associer à une ou plusieurs campagnes marketing, avec choix de l’audience, des channels de publication et des keywords SEO.

Vous pouvez également créer du contenu directement dans Divvy, à partir d’un éditeur de texte. Vous allez pouvoir y associer un briefing partagé à un membre de votre équipe ou à un externe.

Enfin, un puissant outil de recherche vous permet de retrouver facilement vos contenus à partir d’une multitude de critères : type, tag, sujet, date de création, stratégie, statut, niveau de priorité.

Tout est centralisé au même endroit.

Comment planifier son contenu ?

Grâce à Divvy, vous allez également pouvoir planifier beaucoup plus facilement l’ensemble de vos contenus et mettre en place une véritable stratégie de content marketing.

Cette solution digitale permet de déployer plusieurs calendriers. Chez M/L, nous avons choisi de mettre en place 3 plannings différents :

  • Les articles de blog ;
  • Les marketo tips ;
  • Les webinaires.

Vous allez ainsi pouvoir facilement planifier vos contenus tout au long de l’année et vérifier que les dates de publication ne se chevauchent pas entre les différents formats.

Vous allez également pouvoir avoir une vision globale des différentes campagnes, comme une newsletter mensuelle par exemple. Vous allez donc facilement trouver quels contenus inclure dans votre news, passer en mode création et assigner des intervenants à la production.

Bien définir les tags des différents contenus

La définition des catégories et des tags associés aux contenus est très importante. Ces tags et catégories possèdent leurs pages web propres que l’on retrouve sur votre site ou blog.

Le lecteur peut choisir d’utiliser soit des tags, soit des catégories. En termes de SEO, c’est important que vos requêtes soient bien visibles par Google. C’est donc important de bien choisir ses tags pour que les pages associées soient riches en termes de contenu. Sinon, c’est mauvais pour le référencement.

Si on veut travailler un mot clef en particulier, il faut limiter le nombre de tags à des requêtes pertinentes et que le keyword soit bien référencé sur tous les systèmes pour harmoniser le choix des tags en fonction des plateformes.

Ce travail de définition des tags et catégories permet de massifier le travail de contenu et d’optimiser le SEO.

Comment définir sa logique de content marketing autour d’un funnel  ?

Chez M/L, nous avons choisi de partir sur une logique mensuelle en se disant : nous avons des grands thèmes qui intéressent notre audience. Chaque mois, nous allons créer un corpus de contenus autour de la thématique choisie, aux différents niveaux du funnel.

Chaque contenu créé doit être lié à une offre ou un call to action. Quand on a réfléchi au sujet de la data quality, on a créer différents types de contenus :

  • Les tops of the funnel (infographie, snack content, article de blog) qui se lisent facilement ;
  • Au milieu du funnel, on va retrouver un article de fond avec une vidéo, les 12 campagnes de data quality à créer et un marketo office hours ;
  • Et enfin des articles encore plus poussés comme les contenus cornerstone qui constituent la référence sur cette thématique. On peut aussi ajouter un webinaire ou un autre content plus complet.

Cette organisation permet également d’organiser sa stratégie SEO en fonction des différents contenus, pour créer un véritable corpus de mots clefs à partir d’une étude SEMRush. Cet outil aide à trouver facilement des mots et expressions clefs en fonction de leur volume de recherche, puis de suivre les progressions de vos contenus sur les moteurs de recherche.

Vous allez pouvoir créer un cocon sémantique et concevoir des contenus qui s’articulent autour d’une même famille de mots clefs et qui sont reliés entre-eux par un maillage interne.

Pour guider les lecteurs, vous pouvez également utiliser un chatbot qui va vous proposer d’autres contenus à consulter sur le site ou à envoyer par email. Il est donc possible de lier vos contenus à du marketing automation et améliorer son ROI.

Pour organiser votre stratégie, vous pouvez travailler sur Miro pour centraliser toutes les informations utiles à chaque membre de l’équipe. Et ensuite utiliser SEMRush, Google Analytics et Marketo pour mesurer le ROI de vos contenus.

Comment amplifier la portée de vos contenus ?

Comment rencontrer mon audience pour lui proposer mon contenu ? Alors évidemment, vous pouvez faire du SEA, mais ce n’est pas suffisant pour amplifier son contenu de manière “industrielle”. Il y a 3 pistes à suivre :

  • le social media management ;
  • le loyalty program ;
  • le pod.

Amplifier son contenu avec Limber

Limber est une solution qui permet de créer des scénarios marketing pour chaque type de contenu. Lorsque l’on publie un post, on peut envoyer vers son canal personnel, le canal professionnel et son groupe Facebook.

Au bout de 24h, on republie sur son canal perso et le canal de nos collaborateurs avec des likes et partages automatiques. Puis on planifie une reprogrammation de l’événement de manière mensuelle, bi-mensuelle, hebdomadaire, etc.

Limber permet de prendre la main sur vos réseaux sociaux et d’automatiser un certain nombre de publications, à l’intérieur d’un scénario planifié à travers différents comptes et pages. Régulièrement, mon contenu est poussé et amplifié automatiquement sur différents canaux.

Ce type de solution permet de gagner du temps et laisse le choix à vos collaborateurs de commenter, liker ou partager.

Limber propose également un social wall où se retrouvent tous vos contenus à partager très facilement sur les réseaux sociaux. Vos collaborateurs ont accès à ce mur et peuvent sélectionner les contenus de leur choix, avec un système de gamification.

Cette plateforme permet également facilement d’être à l’écoute de vos réseaux sociaux.

Enfin, les ambassadeurs de M/L peuvent également amplifier nos contenus en échange de gains comme des bons ou des réductions sur nos offres. Ils peuvent être une aide précieuse dans la promotion de nos contenus marketing.

Questions et commentaires des participants

  • Dans les formats des contenus développés, est-ce que la variété est privilégiée ? Et qu’est-ce qui fonctionne le mieux ?

Si vous faites l’effort de faire un article de 3000 mots, vous devez la voir comme une pépite à convertir en plein de petits diamants. Remettre en forme un contenu à forte valeur ajoutée dans différents médias, ce n’est pas le plus compliqué. Chez M/L, on essaie de partager le plus de types de contenus différents sur le même thème, pour toucher un maximum d’audience. On part plutôt d’une thématique et on regarde comment la décliner et pas l’inverse. Chaque lecteur ou auditeur est attiré par un type de contenu différent. Il faut donc que tout le monde s’y retrouve dans vos propositions.

Mieux vaut faire moins de contenu et s’emparer d’un sujet pour le traiter vraiment en profondeur et le faire durer dans le temps.

En étant très organisé et en utilisant les bons outils, on peut même en équipe réduite produire un maximum de contenus. Plus vous allez travailler votre process, plus vous allez pouvoir développer votre stratégie et démultiplier vos contenus sur toutes les plateformes.

C’est tellement compliqué de faire du contenu qui fonctionne, il est donc essentiel de conjuguer les expertises sur le contenu le SEO ou le marketing automation. Il faut penser le marketing et la communication comme une seule et même équipe impliquée autour du content marketing.

Il paraît indispensable de conjuguer au maximum toutes les forces en présence.

Merci à tous d’avoir suivi cette session du Marketing Office Hours. N’hésitez pas à nous contacter si vous avez des questions.

Publié Par Sylvain

Depuis 20 ans, Sylvain choisit et assemble les meilleures technologies pour ses clients, afin de les aider à créer une expérience client réussie de bout en bout. Sûrement le Léonard de l'équipe, il est un fan - et un expert - de Marketo ! Il s'assied à côté de ses clients, les fait avancer et fait réussir les projets d'automatisation du marketing avec son équipe.